Established in 1990, the Kenneth Myer Lecture invites an eminent Australian to make a significant statement on a broad subject of interest to them.

The Lecture is named for Kenneth Baillieu Myer AC who was Chairman of the National Library Council from 1972 to 1982 and a long-time friend of the Library.

Kenneth Myer lectures

Professor Glyn Davis, 2023

Professor Megan Davis, 2022

Professor Peter Greste, 2019

Laura Tingle, 2018

Anne Summers AO, 2017

Kim Williams AM, 2016

Professor Mick Dodson AM, 2015

Professor Brian Schmidt, 2014

Professor Julian Disney, 2013

Kerry O'Brien, 2012

Hugh Mackay, 2011

Maggie Beer, 2010

Professor Ian Frazer, 2009

Professor Tim Flannery, 2008

Michelle Grattan AO, 2007

Geoffrey Robertson QC, 2006

Tim Costello AO, 2005

Harry Seidler AC, OBE, 2004

Professor Fiona Stanley, 2003

The Hon. Fred Chaney AO, 2002

Professor Peter Doherty, 2001

Sir Gustav Nossal, 2000

Jillian Broadbent, 1999